The Legislature is scheduled to begin debate on a key pro-life budget provision today. The provision would end taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry in Nebraska by prohibiting clinics that provide, counsel in favor of, or refer for abortion to receive Title X grants.

Title X is a federal grant program for preventative health and family planning services, such as contraception, annual well-woman exams, STD testing and treatment, and HPV testing and vaccinations.

When Congress initiated the Title X grant program, its expressed will was that funds would not be used in programs where abortion is a method of family planning. However, over the years millions of taxpayer dollars have been distributed to abortion clinics.

Last year, Congress passed and President Trump signed H.J. Res. 43 into law, giving states the power to divert Title X funds away from clinics that perform, counsel in favor of or refer for abortion. There’s a provision in Nebraska’s state budget to do just that.

This is great news for the pro-life movement. We have the opportunity to seize one of the most significant pro-life victories in Nebraska in years by ending taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry.

If you care about this issue, please share this video to help spread the word and contact your elected representative today!

Nebraska State Senators

Not sure who your senator is? Find out here.

NameDist.E-mailPhone # (402)CityCapitol Office #
Albrecht, Joni17jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov471-2716Thurston1404
Arch, John14jarch@leg.ne.gov471-2730La Vista8th Floor
Blood, Carol3cblood@leg.ne.gov471-2627Bellevue1021
Bolz, Kate29kbolz@leg.ne.gov471-2734Lincoln1015
Bostelman, Bruce23bbostelman@leg.ne.gov471-2719Brainard8th Floor
Brandt, Tom32tbrandt@leg.ne.gov 471-2711 Plymouth12th Floor
Brewer, Tom43tbrewer@leg.ne.gov471-2628Gordon1423
Briese, Tom41tbriese@leg.ne.gov471-2631Albion1019
Cavanaugh, Machaela6mcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov 471-2714 Omaha11th Floor
Chambers, Ernie11none471-2612Omaha1302
Clements, Robert2rclements@leg.ne.gov471-2613Elmwood8th Floor
Crawford, Sue45scrawford@leg.ne.gov471-2615Bellevue1012
DeBoer, Wendy10wdeboer@leg.ne.gov471-2718Bennington11th Floor
Dorn, Myron30mdorn@leg.ne.gov 471-2620 Adams1208
Erdman, Steve47serdman@leg.ne.gov471-2616Bayard12th Floor
Friesen, Curt34cfriesen@leg.ne.gov471-2630 Henderson1308
Geist, Suzanne25sgeist@leg.ne.gov471-2731Lincoln12th Floor
Gragert, Tim40tgragert@leg.ne.gov471-2801Creighton11th Floor
Groene, Mike42mgroene@leg.ne.gov 471-2729 North Platte1306
Halloran, Steve33shalloran@leg.ne.gov471-2712Hastings1022
Hansen, Ben16bhansen@leg.ne.gov471-2728Blair11th Floor
Hansen, Matt26mhansen@leg.ne.gov471-2610 Lincoln2011
Hilgers, Mike 21mhilgers@leg.ne.gov471-2673Lincoln2000
Hilkemann, Robert4rhilkemann@leg.ne.gov 471-2621 Omaha13th Floor
Howard, Sara9showard@leg.ne.gov471-2723Omaha1402
Hughes, Dan44dhughes@leg.ne.gov 471-2805 Venango1210
Hunt, Megan8mhunt@leg.ne.gov471-2722Omaha11th Floor
Kolowski, Rick31rkolowski@leg.ne.gov471-2327Omaha1018
Kolterman, Mark24mkolterman@leg.ne.gov 471-2756 Seward2004
La Grone, Andrew49alagrone@leg.ne.gov471-2725Gretna1206
Lathrop, Steve12slathrop@leg.ne.gov 471-2623 Omaha1202
Lindstrom, Brett18blindstrom@leg.ne.gov 471-2618 Omaha2015
Linehan, Lou Ann39llinehan@leg.ne.gov471-2885Elkhorn1305
Lowe, John37jlowe@leg.ne.gov471-2726Kearney12th Floor
McCollister, John20jmccollister@leg.ne.gov 471-2622 Omaha1017
McDonnell, Mike5mmcdonnell@leg.ne.gov471-2710Omaha13th Floor
Morfeld, Adam46amorfeld@leg.ne.gov 471-2720 Lincoln1008
Moser, Mike22mmoser@leg.ne.gov471-2715Columbus12th Floor
Murman, Dave38dmurman@leg.ne.gov 471-2732 Glenvil12th Floor
Pansing Brooks, Patty28ppansingbrooks@leg.ne.gov 471-2633 Lincoln1016
Quick, Dan35dquick@leg.ne.gov471-2617Grand Island1406
Scheer, Jim 19jscheer@leg.ne.gov471-2929Norfolk2010
Slama, Julie1jslama@leg.ne.gov471-2733Peru11th Floor
Stinner, John48jstinner@leg.ne.gov 471-2802 Gering1004
Vargas, Tony7tvargas@leg.ne.gov471-2721Omaha1000
Walz, Lynne15lwalz@leg.ne.gov471-2625 Fremont1403
Wayne, Justin13jwayne@leg.ne.gov471-2727Omaha1212
Williams, Matt36mwilliams@leg.ne.gov 471-2642Gothenburg1401
Wishart, Anna27awishart@leg.ne.gov471-2632Lincoln8th Floor

Sample Script

Whether you write an email or make a phone call, please be polite and respectful. Choose two bullet points from below to craft your own message.

“Hello, my name is [Full Name] and I am from [City]. I am contacting you to ask that you support Section 71 of LB 944 to ensure Title X grants no longer subsidize the abortion industry.

  • Although taxpayer funding of abortion is illegal, taxpayer money subsidizes the abortion industry in Nebraska via Title X funds.
  • When Congress initiated the Title X grant program, its expressed will was that funds would not be used in programs where abortion is a method of family planning. However, over the years millions of taxpayer dollars have been distributed to abortion clinics.
  • This language ensures the accountability and integrity of Nebraska’s Title X program and the separation of Title X services from abortion services.
  • Last year, Congress passed and President Trump signed H.J. Res. 43 into law, giving states the power to divert Title X funds away from clinics that perform, counsel in favor of or refer for abortion. This provides an opportunity for one of the most significant pro-life victories in Nebraska in many years.
  • Adopting this provision, will not reduce the amount of Title X funds available for distribution or access to Title X services.

Please support the Title X language in the budget that ends taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry. How do you plan to vote on this important issue? Thank you for your time and for considering my request.

[Full Name]

[Address]

 

Nebraska Family Alliance
Nebraska Family Alliance exists to advance Family, Freedom and Life by influencing policy, mobilizing prayer, and empowering people.
Nebraska Family Alliance
Share This