The Legislature is scheduled to begin debate on a key pro-life budget provision today. The provision would end taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry in Nebraska by prohibiting clinics that provide, counsel in favor of, or refer for abortion to receive Title X grants.

Title X is a federal grant program for preventative health and family planning services, such as contraception, annual well-woman exams, STD testing and treatment, and HPV testing and vaccinations.

When Congress initiated the Title X grant program, its expressed will was that funds would not be used in programs where abortion is a method of family planning. However, over the years millions of taxpayer dollars have been distributed to abortion clinics.

Last year, Congress passed and President Trump signed H.J. Res. 43 into law, giving states the power to divert Title X funds away from clinics that perform, counsel in favor of or refer for abortion. There’s a provision in Nebraska’s state budget to do just that.

This is great news for the pro-life movement. We have the opportunity to seize one of the most significant pro-life victories in Nebraska in years by ending taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry.

If you care about this issue, please share this video to help spread the word and contact your elected representative today!

Nebraska State Senators

Not sure who your senator is? Find out here.

NameDist.E-mailPhone # (402)City
Albrecht, Joni17jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov471-2716Thurston
Appointment Pending49@leg.ne.gov471-2725Gretna
Appointment Pending1@leg.ne.gov471-2733Syracuse
Arch, John14jarch@leg.ne.gov471-2730Papillion
Blood, Carol3cblood@leg.ne.gov471-2627Bellevue
Bolz, Kate29kbolz@leg.ne.gov471-2734Lincoln
Bostelman, Bruce23bbostelman@leg.ne.gov471-2719Brainard
Brandt, Tom32tbrandt@leg.ne.gov 471-2711 Crete
Brewer, Tom43tbrewer@leg.ne.gov471-2628Gordon
Briese, Tom41tbriese@leg.ne.gov471-2631Albion
Cavanaugh, Machaela6mcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov 471-2714 Omaha
Chambers, Ernie11none471-2612Omaha
Clements, Robert2rclements@leg.ne.gov471-2613Papillion
Crawford, Sue45scrawford@leg.ne.gov471-2615Bellevue
DeBoer, Wendy10wdeboer@leg.ne.gov471-2718Omaha
Dorn, Myron30mdorn@leg.ne.gov 471-2620 Lincoln
Erdman, Steve47serdman@leg.ne.gov471-2616Bayard
Friesen, Curt34cfriesen@leg.ne.gov471-2630 Henderson
Geist, Suzanne25sgeist@leg.ne.gov471-2731Lincoln
Gragert, Tim40tgragert@leg.ne.gov471-2801O'Neil
Groene, Mike42mgroene@leg.ne.gov 471-2729 North Platte
Halloran, Steve33shalloran@leg.ne.gov471-2712Hastings
Hansen, Ben16bhansen@leg.ne.gov471-2728Bancroft
Hansen, Matt26mhansen@leg.ne.gov471-2610 Lincoln
Hilgers, Mike 21mhilgers@leg.ne.gov471-2673Lincoln
Hilkemann, Robert4rhilkemann@leg.ne.gov 471-2621 Omaha
Howard, Sara9showard@leg.ne.gov471-2723Omaha
Hughes, Dan44dhughes@leg.ne.gov 471-2805 Venango
Hunt, Megan8mhunt@leg.ne.gov471-2722Omaha
Kolowski, Rick31rkolowski@leg.ne.gov471-2327Omaha
Kolterman, Mark24mkolterman@leg.ne.gov 471-2756 Seward
Lathrop, Steve12slathrop@leg.ne.gov 471-2623 Ralston
Lindstrom, Brett18blindstrom@leg.ne.gov 471-2618 Omaha
Linehan, Lou Ann39llinehan@leg.ne.gov471-2885Elkhorn
Lowe, John37jlowe@leg.ne.gov471-2726Kearney
McCollister, John20jmccollister@leg.ne.gov 471-2622 Omaha
McDonnell, Mike5mmcdonnell@leg.ne.gov471-2710Omaha
Morfeld, Adam46amorfeld@leg.ne.gov 471-2720 Lincoln
Moser, Mike22mmoser@leg.ne.gov471-2715Columbus
Murman, Dave38dmurman@leg.ne.gov 471-2732 Heartwell
Pansing Brooks, Patty28ppansingbrooks@leg.ne.gov 471-2633 Lincoln
Quick, Dan35dquick@leg.ne.gov471-2617Grand Island
Scheer, Jim 19jscheer@leg.ne.gov471-2929Norfolk
Stinner, John48jstinner@leg.ne.gov 471-2802 Gering
Vargas, Tony7tvargas@leg.ne.gov471-2721Omaha
Walz, Lynne15lwalz@leg.ne.gov471-2625 Fremont
Wayne, Justin13jwayne@leg.ne.gov471-2727Omaha
Williams, Matt36mwilliams@leg.ne.gov 471-2642Gothenburg
Wishart, Anna27awishart@leg.ne.gov471-2632Lincoln

Sample Script

Whether you write an email or make a phone call, please be polite and respectful. Choose two bullet points from below to craft your own message.

“Hello, my name is [Full Name] and I am from [City]. I am contacting you to ask that you support Section 71 of LB 944 to ensure Title X grants no longer subsidize the abortion industry.

  • Although taxpayer funding of abortion is illegal, taxpayer money subsidizes the abortion industry in Nebraska via Title X funds.
  • When Congress initiated the Title X grant program, its expressed will was that funds would not be used in programs where abortion is a method of family planning. However, over the years millions of taxpayer dollars have been distributed to abortion clinics.
  • This language ensures the accountability and integrity of Nebraska’s Title X program and the separation of Title X services from abortion services.
  • Last year, Congress passed and President Trump signed H.J. Res. 43 into law, giving states the power to divert Title X funds away from clinics that perform, counsel in favor of or refer for abortion. This provides an opportunity for one of the most significant pro-life victories in Nebraska in many years.
  • Adopting this provision, will not reduce the amount of Title X funds available for distribution or access to Title X services.

Please support the Title X language in the budget that ends taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry. How do you plan to vote on this important issue? Thank you for your time and for considering my request.

[Full Name]

[Address]

 

Nebraska Family Alliance
Nebraska Family Alliance exists to advance Family, Freedom and Life by influencing policy, mobilizing prayer, and empowering people.
Nebraska Family Alliance
Nebraska Family Alliance

Latest posts by Nebraska Family Alliance (see all)

Share This