The Legislature is scheduled to begin debate on a key pro-life budget provision today. The provision would end taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry in Nebraska by prohibiting clinics that provide, counsel in favor of, or refer for abortion to receive Title X grants.

Title X is a federal grant program for preventative health and family planning services, such as contraception, annual well-woman exams, STD testing and treatment, and HPV testing and vaccinations.

When Congress initiated the Title X grant program, its expressed will was that funds would not be used in programs where abortion is a method of family planning. However, over the years millions of taxpayer dollars have been distributed to abortion clinics.

Last year, Congress passed and President Trump signed H.J. Res. 43 into law, giving states the power to divert Title X funds away from clinics that perform, counsel in favor of or refer for abortion. There’s a provision in Nebraska’s state budget to do just that.

This is great news for the pro-life movement. We have the opportunity to seize one of the most significant pro-life victories in Nebraska in years by ending taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry.

If you care about this issue, please share this video to help spread the word and contact your elected representative today!

Nebraska State Senators

Not sure who your senator is? Find out here.

NameDistrictEmailPhone NumberCity
Slama, Julie1jslama@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2733Peru
Clements, Robert2rclements@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2613Elmwood
Blood, Carol3cblood@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2627Bellevue
Hilkemann, Robert4rhilkemann@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2621 Omaha
McDonnell, Mike5mmcdonnell@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2710Omaha
Cavanaugh, Machaela6mcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2714 Omaha
Vargas, Tony7tvargas@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2721Omaha
Hunt, Megan8mhunt@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2722Omaha
Cavanaugh, John9jcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2723Omaha
DeBoer, Wendy10wdeboer@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2718Bennington
McKinney, Terrell11tmckinney@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2612Omaha
Lathrop, Steve12slathrop@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2623 Omaha
Wayne, Justin13jwayne@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2727Omaha
Arch, John14jarch@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2730La Vista
Walz, Lynne15lwalz@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2625 Fremont
Hansen, Ben16bhansen@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2728Blair
Albrecht, Joni17jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2716Thurston
Lindstrom, Brett18blindstrom@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2618 Omaha
Flood, Michael19mflood@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2929Norfolk
McCollister, John20jmccollister@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2622 Omaha
Hilgers, Mike 21mhilgers@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2673Lincoln
Moser, Mike22mmoser@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2715Columbus
Bostelman, Bruce23bbostelman@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2719Brainard
Kolterman, Mark24mkolterman@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2756 Seward
Geist, Suzanne25sgeist@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2731Lincoln
Hansen, Matt26mhansen@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2610 Lincoln
Wishart, Anna27awishart@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2632Lincoln
Pansing Brooks, Patty28ppansingbrooks@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2633 Lincoln
Bostar, Eliot29ebostar@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2734Lincoln
Dorn, Myron30mdorn@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2620 Adams
Pahls, Rich31rpahls@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2327Omaha
Brandt, Tom32tbrandt@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2711 Plymouth
Halloran, Steve33shalloran@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2712Hastings
Friesen, Curt34cfriesen@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2630 Henderson
Aguilar, Raymond35raguilar@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2617Grand Island
Williams, Matt36mwilliams@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2642Gothenburg
Lowe, John37jlowe@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2726Kearney
Murman, Dave38dmurman@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2732 Glenvil
Linehan, Lou Ann39llinehan@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2885Elkhorn
Gragert, Tim40tgragert@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2801Creighton
Briese, Tom41tbriese@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2631Albion
Groene, Mike42mgroene@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2729 North Platte
Brewer, Tom43tbrewer@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2628Gordon
Hughes, Dan44dhughes@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2805 Venango
Sanders, Rita45rsanders@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2615Bellevue
Morfeld, Adam46amorfeld@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2720 Lincoln
Erdman, Steve47serdman@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2616Bayard
Stinner, John48jstinner@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2802 Gering
Day, Jen49jday@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2725Omaha

Sample Script

Whether you write an email or make a phone call, please be polite and respectful. Choose two bullet points from below to craft your own message.

“Hello, my name is [Full Name] and I am from [City]. I am contacting you to ask that you support Section 71 of LB 944 to ensure Title X grants no longer subsidize the abortion industry.

  • Although taxpayer funding of abortion is illegal, taxpayer money subsidizes the abortion industry in Nebraska via Title X funds.
  • When Congress initiated the Title X grant program, its expressed will was that funds would not be used in programs where abortion is a method of family planning. However, over the years millions of taxpayer dollars have been distributed to abortion clinics.
  • This language ensures the accountability and integrity of Nebraska’s Title X program and the separation of Title X services from abortion services.
  • Last year, Congress passed and President Trump signed H.J. Res. 43 into law, giving states the power to divert Title X funds away from clinics that perform, counsel in favor of or refer for abortion. This provides an opportunity for one of the most significant pro-life victories in Nebraska in many years.
  • Adopting this provision, will not reduce the amount of Title X funds available for distribution or access to Title X services.

Please support the Title X language in the budget that ends taxpayer subsidies of the abortion industry. How do you plan to vote on this important issue? Thank you for your time and for considering my request.

[Full Name]

[Address]

 

Nebraska Family Alliance
Nebraska Family Alliance exists to advance family, freedom and life by influencing policy, mobilizing prayer, and empowering people.
Nebraska Family Alliance

Latest posts by Nebraska Family Alliance (see all)