A child’s education is foundational to the success they will have later in life. It’s in their best interest to learn in environments and through programs that meet their individual needs. Parents know this.

Too often, though, parents are unable to seek the education that’s right for their child because of financial barriers.

Right now in Nebraska, many people give generously to private scholarship foundations. These foundations then distribute money to qualified students with financial needs to attend a non-public school. But for those who seek help, there often aren’t enough resources to meet the demand. In the 2018-2019 school year, Children’s Scholarship Fund of Omaha had 439 qualified students left unfunded due to lack of scholarship money.

Senators considered a bill that would help to incentivize increased giving to private scholarship organizations. How? Through a tax-credit. LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act, would enact a tax credit for private donations to non-profit scholarship granting organizations.

Related: What is a Tax Credit Scholarship?

More scholarships for students to receive a private education would reduce the burden on not only our public schools but also taxpayers. Iowa’s recent analysis of their 2006 enacted tax-credit scholarship program, demonstrated a net state savings of about $12 million annually.

Now is the time to support a parent’s right to decide where his or her child is best suited to receive a well-rounded, challenging and fulfilling education – be it in a public or private school – regardless of the family’s income status.

If you support educational choice, your representative needs to hear from you! Contact your state senator today and ask them to support LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act.

take action

Senators need to hear from you! Contact your senator to support educational choice in Nebraska and support LB 670.

Step 1: Identify your state senator

Wondering who is your senator? Enter your full address with zip code on this interactive map to find out.

Step 2: Look up contact info for your state senator 

NameDist.E-mailPhone # (402)CityCapitol Office #
Albrecht, Joni17jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov471-2716Thurston1404
Arch, John14jarch@leg.ne.gov471-2730La Vista8th Floor
Blood, Carol3cblood@leg.ne.gov471-2627Bellevue1021
Bolz, Kate29kbolz@leg.ne.gov471-2734Lincoln1015
Bostelman, Bruce23bbostelman@leg.ne.gov471-2719Brainard8th Floor
Brandt, Tom32tbrandt@leg.ne.gov 471-2711 Plymouth12th Floor
Brewer, Tom43tbrewer@leg.ne.gov471-2628Gordon1423
Briese, Tom41tbriese@leg.ne.gov471-2631Albion1019
Cavanaugh, Machaela6mcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov 471-2714 Omaha11th Floor
Chambers, Ernie11none471-2612Omaha1302
Clements, Robert2rclements@leg.ne.gov471-2613Elmwood8th Floor
Crawford, Sue45scrawford@leg.ne.gov471-2615Bellevue1012
DeBoer, Wendy10wdeboer@leg.ne.gov471-2718Bennington11th Floor
Dorn, Myron30mdorn@leg.ne.gov 471-2620 Adams1208
Erdman, Steve47serdman@leg.ne.gov471-2616Bayard12th Floor
Friesen, Curt34cfriesen@leg.ne.gov471-2630 Henderson1308
Geist, Suzanne25sgeist@leg.ne.gov471-2731Lincoln12th Floor
Gragert, Tim40tgragert@leg.ne.gov471-2801Creighton11th Floor
Groene, Mike42mgroene@leg.ne.gov 471-2729 North Platte1306
Halloran, Steve33shalloran@leg.ne.gov471-2712Hastings1022
Hansen, Ben16bhansen@leg.ne.gov471-2728Blair11th Floor
Hansen, Matt26mhansen@leg.ne.gov471-2610 Lincoln2011
Hilgers, Mike 21mhilgers@leg.ne.gov471-2673Lincoln2000
Hilkemann, Robert4rhilkemann@leg.ne.gov 471-2621 Omaha13th Floor
Howard, Sara9showard@leg.ne.gov471-2723Omaha1402
Hughes, Dan44dhughes@leg.ne.gov 471-2805 Venango1210
Hunt, Megan8mhunt@leg.ne.gov471-2722Omaha11th Floor
Kolowski, Rick31rkolowski@leg.ne.gov471-2327Omaha1018
Kolterman, Mark24mkolterman@leg.ne.gov 471-2756 Seward2004
La Grone, Andrew49alagrone@leg.ne.gov471-2725Gretna1206
Lathrop, Steve12slathrop@leg.ne.gov 471-2623 Omaha1202
Lindstrom, Brett18blindstrom@leg.ne.gov 471-2618 Omaha2015
Linehan, Lou Ann39llinehan@leg.ne.gov471-2885Elkhorn1305
Lowe, John37jlowe@leg.ne.gov471-2726Kearney12th Floor
McCollister, John20jmccollister@leg.ne.gov 471-2622 Omaha1017
McDonnell, Mike5mmcdonnell@leg.ne.gov471-2710Omaha13th Floor
Morfeld, Adam46amorfeld@leg.ne.gov 471-2720 Lincoln1008
Moser, Mike22mmoser@leg.ne.gov471-2715Columbus12th Floor
Murman, Dave38dmurman@leg.ne.gov 471-2732 Glenvil12th Floor
Pansing Brooks, Patty28ppansingbrooks@leg.ne.gov 471-2633 Lincoln1016
Quick, Dan35dquick@leg.ne.gov471-2617Grand Island1406
Scheer, Jim 19jscheer@leg.ne.gov471-2929Norfolk2010
Slama, Julie1jslama@leg.ne.gov471-2733Peru11th Floor
Stinner, John48jstinner@leg.ne.gov 471-2802 Gering1004
Vargas, Tony7tvargas@leg.ne.gov471-2721Omaha1000
Walz, Lynne15lwalz@leg.ne.gov471-2625 Fremont1403
Wayne, Justin13jwayne@leg.ne.gov471-2727Omaha1212
Williams, Matt36mwilliams@leg.ne.gov 471-2642Gothenburg1401
Wishart, Anna27awishart@leg.ne.gov471-2632Lincoln8th Floor

CAPITOL MAILING ADDRESS

Senator ____________________________________
District # ________ State Capitol
PO Box 94604
Lincoln, NE 68509-4604   

STEP 3: CALL, EMAIL, OR WRITE YOUR STATE SENATOR

SAMPLE SCRIPT

Whether you call, email, or write, please be polite and respectful. Choose two or more bullet points from below to craft your own message.

Hello, my name is [Full Name] and I am from [City]. I am contacting you to ask that you support LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act.

  • Every child in Nebraska should have the opportunity to attend a school that best suits their individual, educational needs – regardless of their income.
  • Parents should have more control over their child’s education than their zip code and the government.
  • Many Nebraskans give generously to private scholarships because they believe in the value of private education. But the need far outweighs the supply.
  • LB 670 will assist low-income and working-class families with scholarship opportunities by incentivizing increased private donations to scholarship granting organizations.
  • Scholarship tax credit programs exist in 18 other states, including Iowa, South Dakota, and Kansas. These policies are proven to not only help children, but they provide savings to taxpayers.
  • When a child is educated in an environment where they thrive – rather than get by or fall behind – everyone benefits.

Please support LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act, to increase educational choice for low-income and working-class families. Thank you for your time and for considering my request.

[Full Name]
[Address]

Nebraska Family Alliance
Nebraska Family Alliance exists to advance Family, Freedom and Life by influencing policy, mobilizing prayer, and empowering people.
Nebraska Family Alliance
Share This