A child’s education is foundational to the success they will have later in life. It’s in their best interest to learn in environments and through programs that meet their individual needs. Parents know this.

Too often, though, parents are unable to seek the education that’s right for their child because of financial barriers.

Right now in Nebraska, many people give generously to private scholarship foundations. These foundations then distribute money to qualified students with financial needs to attend a non-public school. But for those who seek help, there often aren’t enough resources to meet the demand. In the 2018-2019 school year, Children’s Scholarship Fund of Omaha had 439 qualified students left unfunded due to lack of scholarship money.

Senators considered a bill that would help to incentivize increased giving to private scholarship organizations. How? Through a tax-credit. LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act, would enact a tax credit for private donations to non-profit scholarship granting organizations.

Related: What is a Tax Credit Scholarship?

More scholarships for students to receive a private education would reduce the burden on not only our public schools but also taxpayers. Iowa’s recent analysis of their 2006 enacted tax-credit scholarship program, demonstrated a net state savings of about $12 million annually.

Now is the time to support a parent’s right to decide where his or her child is best suited to receive a well-rounded, challenging and fulfilling education – be it in a public or private school – regardless of the family’s income status.

If you support educational choice, your representative needs to hear from you! Contact your state senator today and ask them to support LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act.

take action

Senators need to hear from you! Contact your senator to support educational choice in Nebraska and support LB 670.

Step 1: Identify your state senator

Wondering who is your senator? Enter your full address with zip code on this interactive map to find out.

Step 2: Look up contact info for your state senator 

NameDistrictEmailPhone NumberCity
Albrecht, Joni17jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2716Thurston
Arch, John14jarch@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2730La Vista
Blood, Carol3cblood@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2627Bellevue
Bolz, Kate29kbolz@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2734Lincoln
Bostelman, Bruce23bbostelman@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2719Brainard
Brandt, Tom32tbrandt@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2711 Plymouth
Brewer, Tom43tbrewer@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2628Gordon
Briese, Tom41tbriese@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2631Albion
Cavanaugh, Machaela6mcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2714 Omaha
Chambers, Ernie11none(402) 471-2612Omaha
Clements, Robert2rclements@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2613Elmwood
Crawford, Sue45scrawford@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2615Bellevue
DeBoer, Wendy10wdeboer@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2718Bennington
Dorn, Myron30mdorn@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2620 Adams
Erdman, Steve47serdman@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2616Bayard
Friesen, Curt34cfriesen@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2630 Henderson
Geist, Suzanne25sgeist@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2731Lincoln
Gragert, Tim40tgragert@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2801Creighton
Groene, Mike42mgroene@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2729 North Platte
Halloran, Steve33shalloran@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2712Hastings
Hansen, Ben16bhansen@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2728Blair
Hansen, Matt26mhansen@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2610 Lincoln
Hilgers, Mike 21mhilgers@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2673Lincoln
Hilkemann, Robert4rhilkemann@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2621 Omaha
Howard, Sara9showard@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2723Omaha
Hughes, Dan44dhughes@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2805 Venango
Hunt, Megan8mhunt@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2722Omaha
Kolowski, Rick31rkolowski@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2327Omaha
Kolterman, Mark24mkolterman@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2756 Seward
La Grone, Andrew49alagrone@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2725Gretna
Lathrop, Steve12slathrop@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2623 Omaha
Lindstrom, Brett18blindstrom@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2618 Omaha
Linehan, Lou Ann39llinehan@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2885Elkhorn
Lowe, John37jlowe@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2726Kearney
McCollister, John20jmccollister@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2622 Omaha
McDonnell, Mike5mmcdonnell@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2710Omaha
Morfeld, Adam46amorfeld@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2720 Lincoln
Moser, Mike22mmoser@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2715Columbus
Murman, Dave38dmurman@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2732 Glenvil
Pansing Brooks, Patty28ppansingbrooks@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2633 Lincoln
Quick, Dan35dquick@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2617Grand Island
Scheer, Jim 19jscheer@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2929Norfolk
Slama, Julie1jslama@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2733Peru
Stinner, John48jstinner@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2802 Gering
Vargas, Tony7tvargas@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2721Omaha
Walz, Lynne15lwalz@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2625 Fremont
Wayne, Justin13jwayne@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2727Omaha
Williams, Matt36mwilliams@leg.ne.gov (402) 471-2642Gothenburg
Wishart, Anna27awishart@leg.ne.gov(402) 471-2632Lincoln

CAPITOL MAILING ADDRESS

Senator ____________________________________
District # ________ State Capitol
PO Box 94604
Lincoln, NE 68509-4604   

STEP 3: CALL, EMAIL, OR WRITE YOUR STATE SENATOR

SAMPLE SCRIPT

Whether you call, email, or write, please be polite and respectful. Choose two or more bullet points from below to craft your own message.

Hello, my name is [Full Name] and I am from [City]. I am contacting you to ask that you support LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act.

  • Every child in Nebraska should have the opportunity to attend a school that best suits their individual, educational needs – regardless of their income.
  • Parents should have more control over their child’s education than their zip code and the government.
  • Many Nebraskans give generously to private scholarships because they believe in the value of private education. But the need far outweighs the supply.
  • LB 670 will assist low-income and working-class families with scholarship opportunities by incentivizing increased private donations to scholarship granting organizations.
  • Scholarship tax credit programs exist in 18 other states, including Iowa, South Dakota, and Kansas. These policies are proven to not only help children, but they provide savings to taxpayers.
  • When a child is educated in an environment where they thrive – rather than get by or fall behind – everyone benefits.

Please support LB 670, the Opportunity Scholarships Act, to increase educational choice for low-income and working-class families. Thank you for your time and for considering my request.

[Full Name]
[Address]

Nebraska Family Alliance
Nebraska Family Alliance exists to advance family, freedom and life by influencing policy, mobilizing prayer, and empowering people.
Nebraska Family Alliance

Latest posts by Nebraska Family Alliance (see all)