Due to a unique, NFA-supported bill passed into law by the Nebraska Legislature in 2018, women and families in Nebraska can now choose to receive a state-issued commemorative birth certificate for babies lost prior to 20 weeks gestation.
Nebraska is the first state in the country to offer this type of certificate without requiring a minimum gestation and is also retroactive. Any woman who has experienced a miscarriage during a pregnancy that was verified by a licensed healthcare practitioner in Nebraska is eligible to receive this certificate regardless of when the miscarriage occurred.
Nate Grasz, Policy Director of Nebraska Family Alliance, said:
“One out of every four pregnancies ends in miscarriage, and as we’ve heard from Moms and Dads across the state already, the grief of that loss is as real as the life itself. This state-issued commemorative birth certificate makes Nebraska an innovative leader in supporting grieving families while recognizing the dignity and humanity of the unborn at the earliest stages of development.
Creating a culture of life means honoring the lives lost in miscarriage as well as the families who grieve. Nebraska Family Alliance is proud to have supported the creation and issuance of this life-honoring certificate.”
Women and families in Nebraska can receive a certificate for a payment of $19 after filling out an application form on the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services website and sending the completed form along with the signature of a licensed healthcare practitioner certifying the miscarriage to the DHHS Vital Records Office. For more details click here.